Roumell to take over mayoral chair

Matt Adelman

Incumbent town councilman and local plumber Bruce Roumell will be Glenrock’s next mayor.
Roumell beat out long-time Glenrock resident Linda Care-Smith for the mayor’s gavel, winning the seat 565 to 264 votes (64 percent to 30 percent).
With Roumell becoming the next mayor, town council will now have to fill his council seat. Town council will accept applications and conduct interviews before selecting an individual from the pool of applicants.
Four candidates vied for the two, four-year council seats in Glenrock. Newcomers Boots Faunce and Roy Kincaid won the slots with 612 and 403 votes. Kincaid works for the Glenrock School District. Faunce is retired after serving 36 years as the animal control officer for the town
Tiffany Laramendy, who works at Glenrock Health Center, and incumbent Councilman Russ Dalgarn, who serves as the Converse County Emergency Management coordinator, rounded out the ballot with 333 and 209 votes, respectively.
For Glenrock School Board, voters picked Casey Tillard and Tracie Bopp with 884 and 645  votes, respectively, for the two, four-year seats. Levi Single with 590 votes and Brandon Mitchell with 383 votes rounded out the ballot.
As expected, incumbent Republican commissioners Tony Lehner, Robert Short and Jim Willox won re-election with 3,446 votes, 3,393 votes and 3,101 votes, respectively.
Vote tallies for the other county offices, all of which featured Republicans and incumbents, are: Treasurer Joel Schell 4,438 votes; Clerk Lucile Taylor 4,397; Assessor Dixie Huxtable 4,397; Clerk of District Court Pam McCullough 4,332; Coroner Ross Gorman 4,407; County Attorney Quentin Richardson 4,287; and Sheriff Clint Becker 4,393. All for four-year terms, and all of those elected have held their offices for multiple terms.
Like the county races, each race for state House of Representatives featured an incumbent Republican running unopposed. Thus Jeff Wasserburger won House District 23 (Converse/Campbell) seat, while Dan Kirkbride retained his HD 4 (Converse/Platte) seat, Aaron Clausen will return as the HD 6 (Converse) rep and Eric Barlow will keep his HD 3 (Converse Campbell) position.
In statewide races, Converse County voters followed the trend of other Wyoming counties and picked all Republicans: Mark Gordon for governor (77 percent), Ed Buchanan with 80 percent for secretary of state, Kristi Racines as auditor (83 percent), Curt Meier for treasurer (83 percent), and Jillian Balow as Superintendent of Public Instruction (87 percent).
Complete vote tallies are available on the county website


Glenrock Independent

Physical Address:506 W. Birch, Glenrock, WY 82637 Mailing Address: PO Box 109, Douglas, WY 82633 Phone: (307) 436-2211

The Glenrock Independent is located in the Bronco Building

Office hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday - 10:00 a.m. to 2 p.m. Tuesday, Thursday - 9:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.

Subscriber Login